Chew slowly, Swallow.

Another of the fortune cookies
which I never eat
read:
“In your future there are many funerals”
and it made me want to show
the guy I took to be at least the day boss
(cuz I like the place) and tell him really
“I’m not bothered by it”
(here I’d have to try to ascertain
if he could read the English)
“but these cookies” (well, I know they just come off a truck )
“might not be good for business.”
I imagined
he would smile as though he understood,
reach for the cookie box
and say: “You want how many more –  just one?”

Leave a Reply

