global warming

Oh polar bear, tonight
I’ll try to picture you as Sirius
so pretty white and far enough away
that you won’t kill me

Think how coal fired science
made this bigger star of you
with hollering eureka bring me
trucks of presses
trains of paper
barrels of more darkroom stuff

Think also of her arm around me
by the mailbox, back when love was new
already she was asking me to call her Kit 

and we were telling friends

she introduced you
thirty days exactly after introducing trilobites

Oh,  whoa

Okay

I know that look

The turned up nose

I’m gathering you’re not at all concerned
with fossil aspects of the universe

You’re focused rather on your usual
relentlessly refreshing vector studies
of organic airborne molecules

Your eyes are closed

So one last whisper
between you and me,  a stone
the size of Delaware is shipping
and I hope your name is on it,  next to mine

One response to this post.

  1. Posted by back on the grape on March 23, 2012 at 11:14 pm

    “So here’s a whisper
    between you and me, a rock
    the size of Delaware is coming
    and I hope your name is on it, next to mine”

    mmmmmm. nice.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

