Gettin’ over it

I was telling a friend about this photo, which I have a copy of somewhere (I found this one online). The fellow pictured, Phil Quartier, once told me a little bit about the story behind it. I’ve heard that Phil passed away a few years ago, and this shot was taken many, many years ago somewhere in New Jersey…in the 40’s as I recall.  It is one of a series of attempts to capture Phil and the horse going over the jump, and I guess the most successful, though when Phil told the story he still seemed a little disappointed that the first few shots did not work out. He told me that before the horse got sweated up and slippery, he was able to ride this jump with both hands free.

One response to this post.

  1. Posted by Lori on July 3, 2012 at 9:22 am

    I am so glad you took the time to find this and post it. Powerful and breathtaking, I wish I could jump that well in a saddle!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

