the operation

Converting a small upstairs bedroom into a modern spa, very carefully.

The downstairs:

037038

.

.

…………………………………………….

…………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………..And And the project overhead, floors opened up, upper surface of downstairs ceilings exposed, these channels will accommodate the water and soil tubes and much of the wiring:
updown 002.updown 010
.

…………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………Rough Rough openings for lights and vent fans above:

.updown 006

 

.

……………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………..And And above all, the attic:

.025

………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………Main Main upstairs hall is sealed for dust protection, access to project is through narrow back stairway. Around 2 tons of lath, plaster and misc. debris have exited so far, carried in 35 gallon tubs @ 100 lbs each.

.029030

5 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by sofieonecrow on March 16, 2014 at 11:15 am

    Better man than I, Gunga.

    That’s a lot of work! How long do you think it will take?

    Reply

    • Unsure. Part timing it due to demands at church job. Plumber will be in early this week to implant fluid system, allowing me to close patient and build partitions.

      Reply

      • Posted by sofieonecrow on March 16, 2014 at 1:44 pm

        Well, good luck with it. I like your pictures of the “bones” (I know, much used-overused-word) of the house – always have liked to see how things are constructed behind the surface.

  2. This hardly counts as DIY, more like house reconstruction. I’m assuming “spa” is one of those cavities equipped with pumps and jets, the English name for which escapes me. My first and last experience of such a device occurred during a wedding anniversary over-nighter at one of the UK’s most expensive hotels/restaurants, Le Manoir au Quat’ Saisons. Having been supplied with my newspaper of choice I decided to experiment with the spa; stepped in; ran water; forget its potential; accidentally moved against one the submarine orifices. A large volume of water shot into the air and dropped down on the newspaper, reducing it to pulp. Should I ever visit you I’ll be quite satisfied if you throw one or two buckets of water over me in the backyard.

    You’re a bit stingy with the detail but no doubt this is because you want to hide advanced procedures from your competitors. I was very impressed with the phrase “water and soil tubes” until I eventually concluded you were talking, in effect, about “clean and dirty”.

    I wondered too about “upper surface of downstairs ceiling” which looked like a floor to me, but you probably think I’m just being needlessly smart. Oh yes, I see what I would call a lath has attracted a final e. Local practice, no doubt.

    You do realise that, overwhelmed as I am by the scope of this project, I have been forced to nit-pick on my usual subject rather than the technicalities. It was either that or remaining silent.

    However this closer inspection has led to an important discovery. At the back of mind I’ve always thought that your blog name seemed inexplicably clumsy. But you were way ahead of me and for the first time I have recognised the wordplay involved. A Frenchman in my position would be required to say Mon chapeau in recognition, short for Tire mon chapeau or I tip my hat to you..

    Well, what’s sauce for a Frog is sauce for a Rosbif.

    Reply

  3. Lath is correct, and corrected. This “spa” will be a walk in shower with a steam generator. All ceramic tile surfaces. Mykwerks counts as “My Quirks” as well as “Mike Works”. I’ll post more pictures and detail soon.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

