start relay drama

start-relay

1.5″ x 1.5″ x 1″

relayold

The Old

Had an upright freezer breakdown and spent a few hours trying to solve the problem. With practically zero knowledge of freezers (I did muscle it out the door before the frost thawed) and finding no “reset” button, I took to the web. Found the basic go wrongs and first learned to test the compressor windings (w/meter). They seem pretty good, not perfect, but maybe my meter isn’t sensitive enough. Next noted that the wiring diagram on the freezer indicated the existence of an overload protector, so I image searched that term, discovered what one might look like, and extracted mine from the circuitry. It had many numbers on it, and I eventually located an image of it and then an Amazon listing. About six bucks -none in stock. Could not find for sale anywhere else but persistence (may have) paid off. I found a comment on a discussion board indicating that my part (which has three connecting pins) was impossible to find, but giving detailed instructions for a work-around. It said I needed to pry apart my start relay and remove the blown (it was clearly blown) disc fuse, being careful not to damage the case. I needed to purchase a widely available (single pin) QP2-4R7, pry IT apart to obtain a new fuse, and transplant it into my old case. Ordered the QP2-4R7 from Hong Kong on Feb 6, due to arrive Feb28-Mar 7. It came, return address Hong Kong, on Feb 13, total cost including shipping: $1.87. Disc transplant is complete, but I haven’t wired the relay back in yet. I fully expect that when I power up it will instantly destroy the fuse.

7 responses to this post.

  1. Sounds like something that started out as mundane repair job which stage by stage turned into an increasingly difficult challenge at the same time as your determination to overcome rose to meet it. It doesn’t really matter if the thing explodes when you turn it on – you know you have given it your best.

    Reply

    • Nothing electronic is a mundane repair job for me, Sir Hugh, but I’m a bit like a dog with a bone. The freezer is a cheapy, bought on sale for 100 US 6 years ago. A reset button would have been easy, but learning is fun.

      Reply

  2. In my youth I was easy meat for heroic stories. Ivanhoe and that sort of thing: knights clanking towards each other at 2 mph, they resembling the Tin Man, their horses wearing upturned bathtubs. Then the knights sort of mucked up their ticket in Antioch, etc, and I suspected, anyway, they’d have voted Brexit.

    Cowboys hardly made it round round the first lap. Youthful realism had set in and I couldn’t submit to guys who never reloaded. Who were they fooling? Where were the necessary yards of machine-gun belt?

    Phillip Marlowe in LA. A thinking guy with a gun. But too much disdain for any kind of buck, however honest.

    Late in life – very late, in fact – I became an adult. Heroes could not be personified, they were at their best in the abstract: as pure intellect. But duels could still arise. The first round, which your intellect was bound to win, was not against the overload protector but against the imperfect intellect of its designer: both of these entities honourable but his lacking the true pur sang.

    And then the commenter on the discussion board, an incorporeal intellect, what could be more symbolic? And so the story (Nay! The epic!) continues. The stage is tiny but the conflict is majestic. I couldn’t have helped you but ectoplasmic Andrew Hatch (of Gorgon Times) would have have handed you the disc fuse – unwrapped – before you asked for it, while Clare Kepler would have nodded and pointed.

    Good stuff. A Super Bowl that mattered played out on a work bench

    Reply

    • And it works! Ran it for 3 hours yesterday post repair, then shut it down to await a move back into house…or maybe basement. Trust is low, since I don’t know what killed the “overload protector ” in the first place.

      Reply

  3. I gather the feathers, tie them to the hook, and cast the fly onto the limpid pool. There is nothing matches it when the big fella stirs and strikes.

    Reply

  4. I used to tie a huge buzzard fly made with turkey wing feathers and cast off a concave curved damn wall as dusk approached on warm summer evenings for rainbows at Chelker Reservoir. This is what blogging is all about. I speculate somebody will now provide an anecdote about turkeys? In later life I have become averse to any kind of “game” pursuit, but there is still nostalgia for some of my trout fishing days.

    Reply

    • I used to hunt madly, but like you I’ve quit, and I still feel remorse. Haven’t felt a fish “on” in many years. Hadn’t thought of it until now, but it’s quite like the feel of sheet in hand on a dinghy. I’ve got naught on turkeys.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

